Wayne Davis secures division one win in Ceduna Dirt Circuit racing action

Wayne Davis proved the best of the bunch in division one as the Ceduna Dirt Circuit Club hosted a race meeting at ANDOC Park on Saturday.

Sponsored by Ceduna Signs, the event saw a large crowd file through the gate and the evening commenced with a minute's silence for club stalwart George Baldwin.

When the racing started Davis took off as he showed the rest of his division a clean pair of heels, going on to record six consecutive wins for the night and in the process dip into the sub-four minute race time.

Shaun Freeman on board 'Wild Thing' chased Davis hard but had to settle for second, while Darren Coote rounded out the podium.

Veteran Alan Woollatt was an early retirement.

Division two always provides close racing and Saturday was no exception, as nose-to-tail action was the order of the day.

The evergreen Greg Limbert was back racing and showing the youngsters he still has it to triumph.

Toby Lee came home in second on a countback, but had his mirrors full of the hard-charging Isaak Grills, who made a cameo appearance back at the the track.

Port Lincoln's Matt Newland, a regular visitor to the club, had a trouble free night and the result was the overall win in division three, but the consistent Murray Watkinson was chewing away at his bumper bar all night.

Kyle Rice's decision to go racing instead of burnouts is proving fruitful as he grabbed third place.

The all-comers race was all Freeman as the Wild Thing drove away from the rest of the field, leaving everybody else to battle for the minor placings.

Tyson Carr crossed the line in second, with Lee finally getting into third position with a lap to go.

The next meeting will be on Saturday, October 24, and will be a tribute to the late Reg Davis, as well as a fundraiser for the Leukaemia Foundation.


Division One

First - Wayne Davis, 36 points

Second - Shaun Freeman, 30

Third - Darren Coote, 24

Division Two

First - Greg Limbert, 33 points

Second - Toby Lee, 22

Third - Isaak Grills, 22

Division Three

First - Matt Newland, 31 points

Second - Murray Watkinson, 29

Third - Kyle Rice, 26

Fastest Times

Division One - Wayne Davis, 3.5519

Division Two - Greg Limbert, 4.1108

Division Three - Matt Newland, 4.2084