Ceduna claims successive Twenty20 crowns after two impressive victories

Ceduna backed up last season's success to win the Far West cricket Twenty20 competition at Smoky Bay on Saturday.

After the two semi-finals, Ceduna met the hosts in the decider and won by 52 runs.

Smoky Bay 4/146 def Streaky Bay 6/130

The day started with consistent batting pushing Smoky Bay to a 16-run success against Streaky Bay.

Chris Williams helped the hosts to 4/146 and despite a half-century from Aidan Whitford, Streaky Bay could only make 6/130.

Opener Liam Pope reached 13 runs before he was bowled, while the wicket of Waylon Drew for 19 had Smoky at 2/61.

Two runs later Joseph Williams was on his way back to the pavilion after being caught for 19, but Peter Collins was in no mood to stick around as he hit four fours and a six in his 28.

Collins and Chris Williams put on 36 for the fourth wicket and after the dismissal of Collins, Williams carried the mantle.

He and Leon Wright added 47 valuable late runs, with Williams finishing not out on 32 and Wright reaching 20 not out.

Darren Brown, Craig Johnson, Shane Pittaway and Tait Johnson each took a wicket.

Both Darren and Travis Brown were removed cheaply to leave Streaky Bay at 2/9, with Craig Johnson and Liam Buckley moving the score to 42 until Johnson was bowled for 17.

Buckley, 14, and Jesse Pittaway went in quick succession to leave Streaky at 5/57 and in need of big hitting.

Whitford delivered as he smashed three fours and six sixes on his way to an unbeaten 54, however Streaky ran out of overs.

Drew and Collins each took two wickets.

Ceduna 4/164 def Thevenard 10/105

Ceduna eased into the grand final with a 59-run triumph against Thevenard.

Jamie Bennett impressed with bat and ball as Ceduna reached 4/164 and then bowled Thevenard out for 105.

After Andrew Miller's duck Bennett and Bredon Smart added 69 runs to put Ceduna on track.

Bennett was dismissed for 56, but 28 from Charlie Williams helped to Ceduna into triple figures.

His wicket took the score to 3/112, with Smart then run out for 35.

Late hitting from unbeaten pair Brendan Kloeden, 28, and Joseph Beattie, 11, made for an imposing total.

Josh Cummings, Josh Threadgold and Dom Denton took Thevenard's wickets.

Thevenard progressed to 40 thanks to Threadgold and Jarrad Trowbridge until the latter was caught for 25, while a 41-run partnership between Threadgold and Josh Seidl was broken when Seidl was caught for 16.

Threadgold was also caught with the score still on 81, and after a brief respite the wickets tumbled.

At 99 Denton was removed for 14, followed by Jacob Grills and Matthew Degner.

One run later Mark Threadgold was out, then Cummings and Brodie Skinner.

Jonty Woods was the last player out, as Thevenard lost 7/6.

Bennett took 3/8, while Travis Goodwin finished with 3/9.

Ceduna 4/178 def Smoky Bay 8/126

A big partnership between Bredon Smart and Charlie Williams led Ceduna to the first piece of silverware this season.

Ceduna posted a lofty 4/178 and despite Liam Pope's resistance, Smoky could only reach 8/126.

The wicket of Andrew Miller for 28 ended a 62-run opening partnership with Jamie Bennett, who was caught four runs later for 32.

Smart and Williams then produced a superb partnership of 110 which propelled Ceduna towards the title.

Both cleared the boundary three times on their way to half-centuries, with Williams out for 53 and one run later Smart for 51.

Leon Wright ended with 2/34.

Smoky's positive start was halted when Joseph Williams was bowled for 19 and then Waylon Drew was dismissed three runs later.

That left Smoky at 2/37, with Chris Williams the next to go, for seven runs.

Peter Collins and Pope added 34 for the fourth wicket until Collins had his stumps rattled for 12.

Broadie Chandler and John Dunn could only add six runs apiece, with opener Pope following after a fine knock of 57 to leave the hosts at 7/117.

Josh Wilkins was the last player out, as Smoky ran out of overs.

Travis Goodwin took 2/16 and Bennett added 2/20 for the victors.