Wudinna records first A grade win in 2019-20 as Waddikee/Warramboo continues perfect start

Wudinna recorded a first A grade Le Hunte cricket victory of the season on Saturday with a 25-run success against Western Districts.

Wudinna was bowled out for 130 in the round five clash at Minnipa, with Districts falling short in the run chase to finish with 9/105.

The visitors had an uphill climb after falling to 3/20 in the early stages.

Scott Allen was caught for one, then Steve Westlake was out for 13 and Viv O'Brien for a duck in quick succession.

It was left to Darryl Marshall and Ryan Lymn to get Wudinna on track as the pair put on a 77-run partnership.

It came to an end when Marshall was caught for 42, with a steady stream of wickets then falling.

Brennan Franklin was removed for two and Jackson Petty a duck, while both Greg Barns, two, and Lymn, 35, were dismissed with the score at 110.

Brodie Sampson was the next to go, for a duck, to leave Wudinna 9/118, with Brad Lymn adding valuable late runs before being the last player dismissed, for 15.

Nathan Davis impressed with the ball as he took 4/23, while Steven Brands added 3/21.

Districts endured a terrible start as the wickets of Angus Gunn and Shaun Carey left them 2/0.

Julian Gosling and Kysen Shepperd got the home side going with a 48-run stand until Shepperd had his stumps knocked over for 17.

Brands fell for one and the wicket of Shard Gosling for five left Districts at 5/67.

Julian Gosling was closing in on a half-century until he was left short of his crease and run out for 48, and Darci Best was bowled two runs later for five to take the score to 7/89.

With the overs ticking away Wade Shepperd was removed for five and Cameron Tomney was the last player out, for a duck.

Ryan Lymn led the bowling with 3/15, while O'Brien took 2/12.

Elsewhere, Jake Bruce's unbeaten half-century helped Waddikee/Warramboo get the better of Kyancutta by three wickets at Kyancutta.

After bowling the hosts out for 135, the WaddiBoos reached 7/142 to grab a fifth successive win.

Jordan Stutley and Hayden Heath got Kyancutta out of a tough predicament in the early overs, with the pair putting on 61 runs for the third wicket after Jeffrey Bigg was removed for a duck and Ty McKenna for two.

Stutley was caught for 34 and nine runs later Saxon O'Brien was out to leave Kyancutta at 4/83.

Heath helped Kyancutta into triple figures only to then fall for 38, with Brett Garnaut also falling with the score on 105.

Jaseton Heath, Darren O'Brien and Harley McCormack had little impact, with Jake Mullan the last player dismissed, for seven.

Kane Murphy was the pick of the bowlers with 3/20.

Waddikee/Warramboo hit similar trouble to Kyancutta, falling to 2/15 with the early wickets of Tyler Chapman and Shaun Murphy.

Kane Murphy was removed for 11 and Asher Sampson for 27, before the wicket of Jake Sampson had the WaddiBoos on shaky ground at 5/72.

Bruce and Kane Grocke came together for a match-winning partnership of 62 and when Grocke was caught for 20, the WaddiBoos were within touching distance of the target.

Bruce hit the winning runs and finished on 52 not out to give the WaddiBoos the points.

Stutley, McKenna and Saxon O'Brien each took two scalps.

In the B grade, Waddikee/Warramboo defeated Kyancutta by seven wickets.

Kyancutta was bowled out for only 94, with the WaddiBoos reaching 3/102 in response.

Brett O'Brien top scored with 29 and fellow opener Nick Cook added 20 runs, with Ezra Foster, 11 runs, the only other player to reach double figures.

Andrew Schmucker bowled well to claim 4/28.

John McBeth led the WaddiBoos' run chase with an unbeaten 67, with Schmucker's 21 adding support.

Foster and Angus Skipworth took the wickets for Kyancutta.

Western Districts defeated Wudinna via a forfeit.