Great Flinders secure Pedler Cup triumph | PHOTOS

Eyre Peninsula’s best up and coming netballers took to the court on Saturday at Wudinna for the Pedler Cup, with Great Flinders emerging with the trophy and Port Lincoln securing the Pedler Shield.

Far West, Mid West, Eastern Eyre, Whyalla, Great Flinders and Port Lincoln all submitted a team in each division as they eyed glory.

The day commenced with the Mid West Netball Association president Reanna Freeman welcoming all associations to the 57th Pedler Cup carnival, along with one of Mid West’s life members Susie Boylan.

The day saw some brilliant netball played in both divisions and close matches too, with two draws in the first round and more throughout the day.

Great Flinders proved too strong in division one and finished undefeated.

They came up against Port Lincoln in the grand final where they continued to dominate, taking a five-goal lead in the first half.

Port Lincoln did not give up, but Great Flinders kept their advantage through to the second half to win 24-19.

In division two, Whyalla had some work to do coming up against last year’s winners Port Lincoln in the grand final.

The teams were evenly matched during the day with eight points apiece, with Whyalla in pole position only by percentage.

Port Lincoln showed they meant business as they raced out to an 11-goal lead, however Whyalla fought hard in the second half to close the gap.

It proved too big a task as Port Lincoln won by eight goals with a 22-14 result to take home their 10th Pedler Shield.

Robyn Pedler, daughter of Pedler Cup founder Nita Pedler, travelled to Wudinna to award the Pedler Cup, Pedler Shield and individual trophies.

She said she was pleased the carnival was still going and that it was helping the development of young netballers across the region.

Division 1 best players: Matilda Crettenden (Great Flinders), Codi Moseby and Gia Thompson (Port Lincoln), Torah Stott (Far West), Gabbie Seal (Mid West) and Lauren Ferme (Eastern Eyre). 

Division 2 best players: Abbey Bates (Great Flinders), Ella Tansell (Port Lincoln), Aliera Sansbury (Far West), Clare McLean (Whyalla), Safara Moyse (Mid West) and Taylor Dolling (Eastern Eyre).