Thevenard stuns Ceduna to win Far West grand final | PHOTOS

Thevenard defeated previously unbeaten Ceduna by 97 runs to claim an upset Far West Cricket Association grand final success on Saturday.

Led by half-centuries from Josh Seidl and Tom Woods, Thevenard posted 8/194, with fine bowling seeing Ceduna collapse to be all out for 97 in response.

It was Thevenard’s first title since 2014, ending Ceduna’s three-year dominance and ensuring Ceduna did not end a second successive season undefeated.

Thevenard elected to bat and Jarrad Trowbridge got them off to a good start as he dominated a 35-run stand with Josh Threadgold, who was out for three.

Trowbridge departed for 35 to leave the visitors at 2/49 as both openers fell to Jaxon Bennett.

Ryan Meier and Seidl got Thevenard going once more to take the score up to 85 before Meier was out for nine, with Lachlan Wilkins soon following for one.

Seidl and Woods added 43 for the fifth wicket, which came when Seidl was caught off the bowling of Andrew Miller for 59.

Sitting at 5/137, Woods took command to take Thevenard towards the 200-run mark.

Matthew Cox was dismissed for seven and Beau Halbert was sent packing only six runs later for two, leaving Thevenard at 7/177.

Woods grabbed important late runs to reach 53 before he was the final man out.

Bennett impressed to finish with 4/37, while Bredon Smart chimed in with 2/29.

Ceduna knew the target would be within their grasp given their commanding efforts at the crease during the season, although the wicket of Charlie Williams for three was an early setback.

Brendan Kloeden and Smart continued their impressive form to get Ceduna going, although Thevenard picked up an important scalp when Kloeden was caught for 42 to leave the home side 2/62.

Disaster then struck as Andrew Miller could only make four, Smart was bowled for 13, Jaxon Bennett was out for a duck and Jacob Bennett for four, to see Ceduna slump to 6/75.

Meier’s bowling was impeccable as he claimed three of the four wickets and then added another in the form of Jamie Bennett for 10.

Ceduna could see their hold on the crown slipping away as Lachlan Marks was bowled for one to be 8/95.

Thomas Andrasic could not add to the score and Garrett Bowden was out two runs later to leave Wayne Miller unbeaten on 13 and to start the Thevenard celebrations.

Meier ended with incredible figures of 4/9 from nine overs, including four maidens, while Cox took 3/20.

Ceduna’s Brendan Kloeden was named cricketer of the year and also took out the most runs award, while teammate Charlie Williams was the best under 21 and took the most wickets award.

Thevenard’s Beau Halbert received the best fielder award.