Kyancutta advance to Le Hunte grand final

Kyancutta set up a Le Hunte Cricket Association grand final clash with Waddikee-Warramboo thanks to a 41-run triumph over Wudinna on Saturday.

Tasman Fitzgerald’s 89 helped the home side to post an imposing 7/220 and despite a half-century from Darryl Marshall the task proved too much for Wudinna, who finished on 9/179.

Kyancutta had a second chance after losing to the WaddiBoos and started well as Fitzgerald and Jeffrey Bigg got the ball rolling with an 80-run partnership ended with the wicket of Bigg for 20.

Jordan Stutley added 20 as he and Fitzgerald just missed a 50-run stand, while the wicket of Hayden Heath for nine had Kyancutta at 3/146.

Mackenzie Heath had only plunder in mind as he smashed 27 off only 16 balls, but both he and Jacob May fell in quick succession to take the score to 5/192.

Fitzgerald’s fine knock then came to an end off only 86 balls, which included seven fours and three sixes.

Brett O’Brien was the seventh player to go, with the score at 200, but Brett Garnaut finished with eight runs and Darren O’Brien 13 to ensure it would be a tough run chase for Wudinna.

Both Viv O’Brien and Remi North took three wickets.

Wudinna’s bid for a grand final spot got off to a terrible start as they found themselves reeling at 4/23.

Ryan Lymn and Troy Klante fell for ducks, Tyson Jackson added three runs and North only four – the latter trio all falling to Fitzgerald.

Scott Allen watched his partners fall as he and Marshall led the revival which included a 50-run partnership, ended when Allen was stumped for 35.

Viv O’Brien provided Marshall with support to reach 14, with his wicket taking Wudinna to 6/112.

Harrison Scholz stuck around yet all hope was lost when Marshall fell for 75 off the bowling of Bigg.

Marshall reached the total off just 74 balls as he cracked three fours and five sixes.

That left Wudinna at 7/160, with Jackson Petty dismissed for a duck and then Scholz for 19 to end the match.

Fitzgerald claimed 3/42, with Mackenzie Heath and Bigg adding two wickets apiece.

The grand final will take place at Wudinna this Saturday.