Two new officers elected

Ceduna’s Country Women’s Association branch had its annual general meeting last Friday where a new treasurer and handicraft secretary were named.

Shirley Mahar welcomed 11 members and guest speaker for the day, Sandy Nash, in the Anglican Church hall, while there were apologies from Jenny Skinner, Joan Warmington and Ruth Hardy.

Mrs Mahar was retained as president, with Kath Dunn as vice president and reporter, Jenny Skinner offered to be secretary in her absence, Claire Collins was named new handicraft secretary as well as being assistant secretary, Dianne Thompson is the new treasurer with Mary Fox assistant treasurer, and Elaine Kloock is assistant handicraft secretary.

Ms Nash from Centacare spoke about all the services available for people in domestic violence situations, plus other help available through Centacare.

Mrs Collins read the minutes of the 2016 annual general meeting and handicraft secretary Mrs Kloock gave her report for the past 12 months and said how much she enjoyed her 14 years, which included a period where she was the Far Western Group handicraft secretary.

She said how much she learnt by attending handicraft school in Adelaide and that she would not be continuing in her position, after which Mrs Fox gave her last treasurer report after taking on the role in 1998.

Mrs Mahar gave her president’s report and thanked all members who has supported her and said the association had so much to offer, encouraging members to attend state council meetings and country state council, which would be in Port Augusta next March.

There were birthday celebrations for Mrs Fox and Joyce Chandler and each received a handkerchief, as Mrs Fox thanked members for the lovely arrangement of flowers delivered on her 90th birthday and cut the cake made by Mrs Dunn. Future birthday ladies will receive a shoulder spray made by Joyce Chandler.

The branch is planning a SACWA scone day for October, while the Far Western Group social art and craft day will be on Monday, August 14 at Streaky Bay with SACWA deputy state president Lyn Brew as guest speaker.

The 2016-17 competition winners were Mrs Kloock on 96 points in the handicraft, ahead of Doreen Denton and Mrs Dunn on 93 and 92, and Mrs Denton in the bloom with 103 points ahead of Mrs Dunn on 95 and Mrs Skinner with 93.

For the most recent competition, Mrs Chandler won the handicraft and Mrs Denton won the bloom entry.

An interesting program for 2017-18 was drawn up and new members are welcome to join.

The branch will celebrate 84 years on August 8 at the Ceduna Foreshore Hotel.