Stutley's 116 helps Kyancutta to Le Hunte glory

Jordan Stutley and superb bowling saw Kyancutta down Waddikee/Warramboo to win the Le Hunte Cricket Association grand final.

Stutley smashed 116 not out as the WaddiBoos fell well short of Kyancutta’s imposing 5/229 to be all out for a paltry 61.

Kyancutta was sent in to open the batting and after losing openers Jeffrey Bigg and Tasman Fitzgerald for 12 and 11 respectively, Stutley and Zac Fitzgerald, 47, added 104 runs.

Fitzgerald’s dismissal left Kyancutta 3/146 but Stutley continued his plunder alongside Ty McKenna’s 29.

Martin Grocke was the pick of the bowlers with 3/53 from seven overs.

The run chase started poorly and never recovered after Tyron Cummings was bowled for a duck.

Clint Winter was the only batsman to reach double figures as he made 11 runs but the WaddiBoos capitulated to at one stage lose 4/8.

Waddikee/Warramboo was never in the hunt and ended the season on a disappointing note.

Mackenzie Heath was in fine form with the ball taking 2/6 from five overs, with two maidens.

Zac and Tasman Fitzgerald, and Joe O’Brien, also took two wickets.

In the B grade, Western Districts got past Waddikee/Warramboo, winning by five wickets.

The WaddiBoos were dismissed for 72, as Shane Best took four wickets, while Western Districts was steady in its run chase and was led by Shane Pittaway’s 25 runs.

Le Hunte trophy winners for the A grade were Jordan Stutley, claiming the batting aggregate and average with 414 runs at 59.14, with Tyler Chapman’s 15 wickets at 8.2 helping him to the bowling aggregate and average.

WaddiBoos’ Chapman secured the all rounder award, while best fielder was a tie between Western Districts’ team-mates Kysen Shepperd and Stephen Brands.

In B grade, Districts’ Craig Johnson won the best batting aggregate with 230 runs and team-mate Wes Daniell claimed the best average trophy.

The bowling aggregate and average trophy went to Waddikee/Warramboo’s Corey Waters with nine wickets at 14.22, with Craig Johnson the all rounder winner.

The best fielder was another tie between Harley McCormack and Greg Scholz.